For readers

I just wanted to pose a question.  The, if you were stranded on a desert island, question.  My take on it was to assume no access to internet, phones, etc., no media, no devices of any kind, because they wouldn’t work.  Even if said devices made the rough journey, not only would there be no connectivity, but they’d be rusted and waterlogged and so on.  a book might scarcely make it, if not protected.  But you could attempt to dry it out.

and, as I should have led with this:

If you were stranded on a desert island and could only have two books, which would you choose?

My answer, off the cuff, was:

“so yeah, if I was stranded on a desert island, with no nothing and could only have two books – and they had to be fiction – practical me would probably ask for survival guides – I would actually likely choose Count of Monte Cristo and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  if a third, I would then – don’t hate me – probably request the collected works of Shakespeare.”

(as for the “don’t hate me” comment, I think I might have been stung by anti-nerd bullies one too many times. and/or people who think Shakespeare is erudite; when, actually, he was of the people, he made crass dick jokes… I guess it comes down to high school English classes.  and no one actually likes to read what they were forced to read.  …shudder, Cloudminder (I believe that was the title, the historical fiction on John Brown the abolitionist, a large book, a dry read, and an entire chapter on rearing sheep.)

so – insert secluded end of the world analogy – if you only had two (non-practical) books to read, which would you choose? I automatically assume most people, with historical reason, say the Bible.  so, so as not to start a religious debate, either beside religious text of choice, or, like practical manuals, that is unavailable,  what then?  what, when the chips are down, what book would you choose?

No Responses to “For readers”

Leave a Reply

