new meaning to pissing contest


Pee to play

Well then.  I think I’m torn.  On the one hand, this is quite a striking, and literal, commentary on where our society is headed.  On the other, if I were a man, and very wasted, I think I would be quite amused and wouldn’t be able to resist playing.  (although I think, for ego’s sake, I might have to be alone in the bathroom)  I think I would intentionally pound beers as well to have the necessary amount of piss required for said game.

What’s next?  An in-toilet game for females? a #2 oriented game? exploring other bodily secretions as controllers?  I’m thinking of spitting contests made virtual.

Theremin: An Electronic Odyssey

Then again, using the body as a “controller”, like these new Wii games, is nothing new.  Theremin invented this technology in the 1920s and ’30s with the renown theremin and the terpsitone, transforming dance into electrical signals into music.  (I recommend the documentary Theremin: An Electronic Odyssey.)

fillerfillerfillerfillerllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
and then there’s this:

A toilet should have some degree of crass.  I don’t want my toilet to have a remote control or play music for me.  Leave it to somebody to make a toilet on the creepy edge of elegance.

The idea is just so…weird… to think that nearly every facet of the human experience can be digitalized, commercialized, placed in front of a screen, and given the targeted ads.

In Futurama’s “Fishful of Dollars” Fry sees an ad for Lightspeed Briefs in a dream.

LEELA: Didn’t you have ads in the 20th century?

FRY: Well, sure, but not in our dreams. Only on TV and radio. And in magazines and movies and at ball games and on buses and milk cartons and t-shirts and written in the sky. But not in dreams. No siree!
(Fishful of Dollars)

Imagine born, living, and dying (Soylent Green-like) in front of a screen.  Every moment of your life, including defecation, in front of a screen.  with ads to match.  Your own body can become a keyboard.
see OmniTouch
also Skinput
and others: TED and Lumus

I will leave you with this:

Beep-it! from Michael Una on Vimeo.

or maybe this:

(Don’t ask me how I got from urinal games to psychedelic electronic music with theremin-playing robots.)

No Responses to “new meaning to pissing contest”

Leave a Reply

